Over the past few years, Apple has made a great deal of changes to iCloud. They have added some additions to make it a world-class cloud service. However, some drawbacks need to be addressed. There are a number of reasons why trusting Apple alone with your data is a pretty bad idea. Apple promotes iCloud to customers aggressively as a means of securing store information, photos, and other crucial data, which leads to a false sense of privacy and security that all of your data is safe, when in fact it isn’t. Here are some of the biggest mistakes you can make with iCloud.
iCloud Sync Is Not Equivalent To Backing Up
Even if files, photos, documents or any other media is on both your iPhone and iPad, it is not backed up. One of the biggest mistakes that are made regarding iCloud is assuming that since all the photos, contacts, and calendar sync among all the devices, they are backed up. There’s a significant difference between backing up and syncing.
iCloud helps sync content among all Apple devices. If you add an event to the calendar on your iPhone, iCloud pushes that change to the calendar on your Mac and iPad as well. Similarly, taking a photo with the iPhone will find its way into your Mac’s Photo library without connecting the phone to the computer. It is an extremely convenient application for sure. However, the problem arises when you delete a file. If you delete a photo on the Mac, since it is on iCloud, it gets deleted from all devices. Since iCloud does not back up files, the files will get deleted without any way of recovery.
iCloud Does Not Back Up Your Computer
Apple has something known as iCloud Backup. It backs up critical data on the iPad and iPhone to iCloud. However, this feature is available only for mobile devices. The computer will not be backed up by iCloud Backup. To make matters worse, Apple only gives 5GB of free space with an iCloud account. To put that into perspective, the most affordable iPhone 7 comes with only 32GB of space. So right out of the box, you will need to pay extra to back up a new device. More importantly, your Mac will not get backed up, even though it is a portable device. So while data might get synced between devices, most of the content on the Mac does not get backed up directly.
Be Wary of ‘Optimize Storage’ and ‘Store in iCloud’
Two new remote storage features were introduced for iCloud in the macOS X 10.12 Sierra update, which included ‘Optimize Storage’ and ‘Store in iCloud’. Both these features move information from the Mac to the cloud. However, the Mac keeps frequently accessed files locally, while files that don’t get used regularly are moved to iCloud and removed from the hard drive.